This unit in Language Arts, we were told to pick a right which we felt very passionate about. I decided to pick ‘Children’s Rights’ as my right. I started to look at different pages online and books in the library that would help me spread my understanding on this topic. While researching and using different sources to help me understand this subject on a wider scale with more information on hand, I learnt several things I did not know before. Such as, the kind of lifestyle we live may seem ordinary to us but is actually a luxury to other people around the world. After learning about this subject, I had a strong feeling to help these children out in any way. I am quite happy to know that our school does different charities to help the needy, and I will continue to try helping these children as much as I can.

I think that this topic is quite straightforward so I probably did not come across as many issues as the other people researching for other topics may have. I do not believe I had many problems to deal with while looking for information, but I do believe that I struggled with accepting all the issues going on in this world at this very moment, while we live luxuriously. This made me realize that there are a lot of things in our lives we take for granted. For example, me typing this on my laptop may not be a big deal to us but there are children in the world who do not have this luxury.

Before learning about this subject, I was very giving but it did not seem as important to me, however, now my perspective to this topic has changed and I will now have more determination to give more than I receive. I will take more responsibility and give more and more each time the school hosts a charity event or an activity which helps these children. We were all born equal, we should be treated equally too.

2 thoughts on “Children’s Rights

  1. Hadiya, I am delighted that this unit has not only provided an opportunity to learn but an opportunity to grow as a global citizen. I look forward to seeing you put your new found sense of responsibility into action and I will help in any way I can. Maybe you could combine this with your passion project?

    You say that you will give more each time the school hosts a charity event – how about organising one yourself? That would definitely be the next step to take.

    Good work 🙂
    Mrs T

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*
*